Midsummer

 
My midsummer look. Nothing too fancy, not even any powder so all my summer freckles are showing! Oh and while watching the Maypole this old woman (70 something) came up to me and wanted to give me a hug cause she thought I was so cute. How sweet is that. I love old ladies!
 (And yeah, time to re-dye my hair)
 
So today Swedes everywhere celebrates midsummer. A really old Pagan tradition that's both weird and... well... weird! It's the second largest holiday right after christmas here in Sweden. So what is midsummer then? Basicly you raise this huge Maypole (see pics below) wich symbolises a big penis to beg the Gods to fertilize the earth or something. Then you dance around it singing really silly, childish songs and doing crazy dances (Oh, did I tell you midsummer's weird) dressed in either old fashion garments or your prettiest summer dress. And if you want to do it the right way you need to have a flower crown as well.
 
Unfortunately it's also one of the most alcohol infused holidays, wich means violence, rape and a lot of drunk driving. So yeah, not only fun and sillyness.
 
 
Hihi, Bianca got so tired from all the commotion that she cuddled up in the picnic basket and fell asleep.
Oh gosh, I love that dog ♥
 
 
Yummies! Cherry Wine and cupcakes! The frosting melted in the sun (sad face) but still very tasty!
 
 
I also picked a large bouquet of swedish wild-flowers as decoration. Lovely!
So Happy Midsummer to all of you, or as we say in Sweden: Glad Midsommar!
 
 
 HAHAHA!
'
 

Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

Vad fin du är :)

2012-06-26 @ 15:34:33
Postat av: Emelie

Det var jag som skrev förra kommentaren :P

2012-06-26 @ 15:35:09
URL: http://emomelolies.blogg.se
Postat av: Pixy

Nyyyfiken ^^ står det Gällersta på skylten ^^

Jag brukar (om så) också fira där ute ^^

2012-06-28 @ 22:05:27
Postat av: Pixy

P.s om du har lust och känner att du vill, kan du tipsa om bra bloggar? Att läsa kissies gör mig hjärndöd >_<! save me!

2012-06-28 @ 22:06:28

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0